Today was warmer than ever and what I really wanted to do was lie in a pool all day long because every tiny movement made me sweat…

We’ve been going on a lot of visits to different state institutions the past few days and although I was really looking forward to these visits, they didn’t seem to meet my expectations. Not because I had high hopes of the institutions themselves (there was absolutely nothing wrong with these places) but because our visits seemed so forced upon the residents and patients. Theses visits seldom fulfill the actual purpose of the visits (which is to see how different parts of the health care system work) and instead ends up being some weird show (where some shy patient gets up and sings for us). It just feels really strange.

Today was quite interesting, though. we got to visit the Medical College Hospital and the children’s hospital. It was great to finally be introduced to some of the health care in Kerala!

In our free time, we’ve taken every opportunity to explore the city and the shops. We’ve been to this big shopping place called Parthas (I don’t think I’ve ever seen this many textiles in my life) and yesterday we went to Chaili Bazar Road which was just filled with people and goods and cars and bikes!

Parthas

Parthas

Chaili Bazar Road

Chaili Bazar Road

